Picture
Stop dreaming about and start living it!!  Join my team! Start your own business, work from home, build a better future.

http://thepatrioticpeacock.sababuilder.com  watch the video here learn about our amazing business.

Picture
  • I love Mayonnaise!! I'm picky! My mama raised me right and you don't buy cheap mayo! If you can't have Cains (it's a northern brand we can't get in texas) then Hellman's Light is the next best thing! HOWEVER it's not paleo friendly so I have been doing without mayo. It makes me sad, I love mayo on my burgers, in chicken salad, deviled eggs, crab salad, oh heck I can go on all day about the love of a good mayo! I've missed having those staples in my life but I found that I CAN have mayo, I just need to not use vegetable oil or corn oil, none of those blends. Instead I can use Avocado oil and guess what? I love it far better than the brands I grew up on!! My daughter likes it on her burger woot! she knows what's good! The dips you can make or creamy spicy mustards and sauces for a veggie platter swoon! My daughter loves cucumbers and raw green peppers so for her to have a dip is great! She's not a big dipper, she doesn't dip French fries, or her chicken etc but she loves to dip raw veggies!! so I'm stoked to be able to give her a healthy dip without all those chemicals found in regular store bought mayonnaise.

    To make the mayo, I recommend that you take out your eggs about an hour or two prior to making so that they are room temperature. It just works better if the egg is the same temp as the oil. Less breaking! Also you can hand whisk it (takes a bit of time) or you can use an immersion blender, vitamix or I personally use my Ninja. It's fast and easy and amazing!!!!!!!!!!! Now there is this great Paleo blogger (Nom Nom) who uses Macadamia Nut oil!!!! She says that has a nice nutty taste so you can try that too if you like that sort of nutty earthy flavor!

    Ingredients: (NOTE I ALWAYS DOUBLE THIS RECIPE so we have some in the fridge in a mason jar for later!)
  • 1 large egg yolk (room temp)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Dijon mustard (or you can use dry mustard whichever you have on hand)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 3/4 cup  avocado oil
  • Directions:
  • Take your egg yolk and all other ingredients EXCEPT the oil.
  • Put into whichever device you are using, a bowl, a jar, a ninja etc and mix just enough so that the yolk is thick and bright. About 30 seconds by hand, around 10 by machine.
  • NOW the tricky part!! You want to take 1/4 cup of your avocado oil and slowly pour it in as you are mixing/whisking/blending......  Repeat with the next 1/4 cup........slowly pour as you are mixing.. Then the last 1/4 cup just pour and and mix/whisk!! Voila! you made mayo!, Look how healthy, quick and CHEAP that was!!

    Expiration tip....Make this with freshly bought eggs! The mayo only lasts in the fridge about 1 week PAST the expiration date of your eggs!

    ~~Mandy





    Leave a Reply.